Interview with Yasmin Bashirova: Chief of Staff at Shift Technologies

Posted by Brenda Moya on Thursday, May 2, 2024

Yasmin Bashirova went to college to become an energy resource engineer and worked as an Investment Banking Analyst at Goldman Sachs prior to working as Chief of Staff at Shift Technologies, Inc. She is looking to draw from her engineering, analyst, and finance expertise to transition into the AI space. Besides her professional accomplishments, Yasmin is also extremely active in her community, speaks openly on human rights and social justice issues, and strives to pave the way for young women to become tech and finance leaders.

Tell us about yourself?

My name is Yasmin Bashirova and I am originally from Baku, Azerbaijan, but due to my family situation, I spent the first couple of years of my childhood in a provincial town of Ukraine called Dnepropetrovsk. After my parents’ separation, I moved back to Azerbaijan with my mom, where I studied until 11th grade. For my last two years of high school, I studied at Phillips Exeter Academy in New Hampshire. Upon graduation, I moved to the West Coast to study at Stanford on a scholarship, which is an opportunity for which I am thankful every single day. While at Stanford, I studied Energy Resources Engineering and participated in various organizations such as Stanford Model UN, US Mexico FoCUS, and Stanford Energy Club. I was also the community manager for a co-ed Eastern European themed house called Slavianskii Dom.

What makes you different from other professionals in your field?

My determination to work hard, never give up, and never take a single opportunity for granted. I believe that my biggest asset is the ability to pivot between and adapt to the needs of the business. Having started my career in energy, I was able to acquire the finance skills without getting a degree in business, and am now transitioning to understanding more about strategy & finance overlap with product management in tech